Short answer: if you want free and easy, use iMovie. If you want free and powerful, use DaVinci Resolve. If you want a Mac-only editor you pay for once, Final Cut Pro is $299.99. If you live in Adobe apps, Premiere Pro is $22.99 a month on its annual plan for new subscribers. If most of your footage is a screen recording, a tool built for screen recordings saves more time than any of these. General lists rarely cover that difference, so the section on it below is worth reading.
Prices and limits here were read from each maker's own page on 23 October 2026. Where a page did not say something, this guide writes "not found" instead of guessing. This guide is by the maker of MotionShine, a screen recorder with a built-in editor, so MotionShine appears in the list. It is the last pick, it is short, and it says who it is not for.
The seven picks at a glance
| App | Price (checked 23 Oct 2026) | Free version | Needs on Mac | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| iMovie | Free | The whole app is free | Listing says macOS 26.4 or later in one place and 26.6 in another | First edits, family video, trailers |
| Final Cut Pro | $299.99 once, or $12.99 a month or $129 a year inside Apple Creator Studio (new subscribers) | 30-day free trial of Creator Studio | macOS 15.6 or later | Mac-only pros who want to pay once |
| DaVinci Resolve | Free, or Studio $236 | Free version: 8-bit formats at up to 60 fps, up to 3840 x 2160 | Mac App Store listing: macOS 15.0 or later | Free, deep editing and color |
| Premiere Pro | $22.99 a month on the annual plan, billed monthly, first year for new subscribers | 7-day free trial | Not found on the pricing page | Adobe users and teams on mixed machines |
| CapCut desktop | Free plan; Pro shown as 1500 BDT a month or 10000 BDT a year | Free plan with basic editing tools | Page lists macOS 10.14 or above | Short social videos, quick captions |
| Camtasia | From $39 a year (Starter) to $599 a year (Pro) | Free trial with limits | Mac 14 or later (checked 14 Oct 2026) | Tutorials and training videos |
| MotionShine | Free export up to 720p at 30 fps; Pro unlocks 1080p, 1440p, 4K and 60 fps; one-time prices | Yes, no watermark, no time limit | macOS 13 or later | Mac screen recordings and demos |
Sources: Apple's Final Cut Pro page and the iMovie and DaVinci Resolve listings on the Mac App Store, Blackmagic Design's DaVinci Resolve page, Adobe's Premiere pricing page, CapCut's pricing and desktop pages, TechSmith's Camtasia store page. The Camtasia Mac requirement comes from the same TechSmith pages as read on 14 October 2026 and was not re-read today. Prices change, so check the maker's page before you buy.
Which one should you pick?
Start with what you will edit most.
- You have never edited a video. Start with iMovie. It is free and Apple makes it.
- You edit camera footage and want the most for free. Use DaVinci Resolve.
- You edit on a Mac only and hate subscriptions. Look at Final Cut Pro's one-time price.
- You already pay for Adobe apps, or you share projects with people on Windows. Premiere Pro fits.
- You make short clips for social media. Try CapCut's free plan first.
- You make tutorials, courses or training videos with a lot of screen footage. Camtasia is built for that, and so is MotionShine, with a different price shape.
- Most of what you edit is a screen recording of your Mac. Skip to the section on screen recordings below.
iMovie: free and easy
Apple's Mac App Store listing says iMovie is free. It describes 29 trailer templates, titles and transitions, picture-in-picture and green-screen effects, tools for color, stabilization and audio, and importing projects you started on an iPhone or iPad. The listing says you can edit movies at up to 4K resolution with footage from newer iPhones, GoPro and other Ultra HD cameras, on compatible Macs.
One thing to check: the listing gives its macOS requirement twice and the two numbers differ. The top says macOS 26.6 or later. The description says macOS 26.4 or later, 4 GB of memory and 3.5 GB of free disk space. The download is listed at 3.6 GB. Open the listing on your own Mac before you plan around it.
Keep iMovie if you want a free editor with a gentle learning curve and your footage is ordinary: phone clips, trips, a school project, a simple trailer.
Skip it if you need many audio tracks, precise color work or a long timeline with hundreds of clips. Apple's page does not claim those, and you will outgrow the app.
Final Cut Pro: pay once, edit fast on a Mac
Apple's Final Cut Pro page lists two ways to get it. One is a one-time purchase of $299.99 on the Mac App Store. The other is Apple Creator Studio, at $12.99 a month or $129 a year for new subscribers, or $2.99 a month or $29.99 a year for students and educators. Creator Studio has a 30-day free trial for new subscribers and bundles Final Cut Pro with Logic Pro, Pixelmator Pro, Motion, Compressor and MainStage, plus enhanced Keynote, Pages, Numbers and Freeform. It needs an Apple Account and an internet connection.
The Mac requirements on the page are macOS 15.6 or later, 8 GB of memory (16 GB recommended) and 7.2 GB of free disk space. An Intel Mac also needs a Metal-capable graphics card.
A simple sum: the yearly Creator Studio price of $129 is about 2.3 years of subscription before it passes the one-time $299.99 ($299.99 divided by $129 is 2.33). That is only a comparison of the two Apple prices. The bundle includes other apps, so the value depends on whether you use them.
Keep Final Cut Pro if you edit on a Mac every week, shoot camera footage, and want to pay once.
Skip it if you edit a few times a year, you work on Windows too, or you only need to trim a screen recording. The one-time price is a lot for a trim.
DaVinci Resolve: the free editor with the most inside
Blackmagic Design's page lists Resolve as free to download. The Studio version was $236 on the page, shown as reduced from $295. According to the page, the free version handles virtually all 8-bit video formats at up to 60 fps and resolutions up to Ultra HD 3840 x 2160, and it includes multi-user collaboration and HDR grading. Studio adds the DaVinci AI Neural Engine, dozens of extra Resolve FX, noise reduction, text-based editing, Magic Mask, film grain and optical blur. It also supports 10-bit video up to 120 fps and resolutions above 4K.
The Mac App Store listing says Resolve requires macOS 15.0 or later, and that the App Store version does not support some external control panels and may not work with all third-party OpenFX or VST plugins. Whether the free version adds a watermark was not found on the pages read today. Check Blackmagic's page before you promise a client a clean export.
Keep Resolve if you want serious editing, color and audio tools without paying, and you are willing to learn a bigger program. It is also the one to try if you plan to grow into color grading.
Skip it if you want to be done in an afternoon. A bigger app means more panels to learn, and a plain trim does not need it.
Premiere Pro: the Adobe standard, as a subscription
Adobe's Premiere page lists Premiere for individuals at US$22.99 a month on an annual plan billed monthly. The page says that price is for the first year and for new subscribers. It does not state the price after the first year on the page read today, so check the cart. Teams are US$37.99 a month per license. Creative Cloud Pro, which includes Premiere and 20-plus other apps, is listed at US$69.99 a month, with 50 percent off the first 3 months. The FAQ offers a seven-day free trial. The Premiere plan lists video editing, title animation, effects, sound mixing, Adobe Express Premium, Frame.io for Creative Cloud, 100 GB of cloud storage and 25 monthly generative credits. Mac system requirements were not found on that page.
Keep Premiere if your team or clients already use Adobe, or you pass projects between Mac and Windows.
Skip it if you dislike renting software. When you stop paying, you lose the editor.
CapCut desktop: quick social videos
CapCut's desktop page lists effects, filters, transitions and captions, automatic captions from video and audio, keyframes, a color wheel, aspect ratio changes that keep the main subject in frame, and several AI tools. Its FAQ lists macOS 10.14 or above as supported, which looks old, so treat it as a minimum and check the download page on your Mac. The pricing page showed prices in Bangladeshi taka when read today: Free at 0, Pro at 1500 a month or 10000 a year. US prices were not found, and the page says displayed pricing is for reference only. Whether free exports carry a watermark was not found.
Keep CapCut if you cut short vertical clips, want fast captions and are fine with a cloud-linked app.
Skip it if you need a quiet, offline tool with no sign-in, or you want to know the exact price before you open the app. The page asks you to sign in to see final pricing.
Camtasia: built for tutorials, priced by the year
TechSmith's store page lists four individual plans, all billed yearly: Starter $39.00 (Editor and Snagit, with watermarked editor output), Essentials $179.88 (Editor, Audiate, Snagit, watermark-free exports), Create $249.00 and Pro $599.00. A quick sum: $179.88 divided by 12 is $14.99 a month. There is no monthly billing in the list checked on 14 October 2026. Each app can be trialed for free with limits, and the page does not state the trial length. Refunds are available within 14 days of purchase.
The page also labels many Editor features as watermarked on every tier, so the watermark rules are not clear from the store page alone. Read TechSmith's support article before you pay.
Keep Camtasia if you build long tutorials or training courses, want a timeline with many features, and are fine paying each year.
Skip it if you want a one-time price or you only need a few cuts a month.
Screen recordings are a different job
Most guides on this topic treat all footage the same. Screen recordings are not. A screen recording has long moments where nothing happens, a small cursor that is hard to follow and text that is too small on a phone. The edits that fix those are zooming in on the click, smoothing the cursor and trimming dead time. In a general editor, you do each of those by hand, with keyframes, on every clip.
A tool built for screen recordings applies some of them while you record. That is the whole idea behind apps like MotionShine (this guide is by its maker), Screen Studio and Loom. If you are not sure which recorder you need, the best screen recorder for Mac compares them.
MotionShine: for Mac screen recordings
MotionShine is a free Mac screen recorder with auto zoom on clicks, a smooth cursor, click effects and motion blur that you can add. Its editor has text, pictures, music lanes, voice over and on-device captions. Free exports go up to 720p at 30 fps, with no watermark and no time limit. Pro unlocks 1080p, 1440p, 4K and 60 fps, and the prices are one-time, not a subscription. It runs on macOS 13 and later.
Keep MotionShine if your videos are mostly screen recordings: demos, tutorials, walkthroughs, bug reports.
Skip it if you edit camera footage, trailers, interviews or anything with many video tracks. It is not a general video editor, and it has no share links. For that work, pick iMovie, Resolve, Final Cut Pro or Premiere from above. A common setup is to record and polish in MotionShine, then bring the finished clip into a bigger editor if you need to combine it with camera footage.
What "free" really means in video editors
Free can mean four different things, so read the fine print.
- Free forever, no catch. Apple lists iMovie as free. Blackmagic lists Resolve as free to download.
- Free with a watermark. Camtasia's Starter plan outputs a watermarked editor render, according to TechSmith's page.
- Free trial. Premiere has a seven-day trial, and Apple Creator Studio has a 30-day trial. Both end.
- Free to try, pay to export. Some tools let you edit freely and charge when you export. Check the export page, not only the signup page.
For screen recordings, there is one more catch: resolution. A 720p export is fine for a blog post or a quick demo and soft on a large monitor. If you need sharper, a paid tier or a bigger editor is the honest answer.
Before you download: check your Mac
Three quick checks save an hour.
- macOS version. Apple menu, About This Mac. Compare it with the requirement for the app you want. Final Cut Pro needs macOS 15.6 or later, and Resolve's Mac App Store listing needs macOS 15.0 or later.
- Free disk space. Final Cut Pro lists 7.2 GB, and iMovie lists a 3.6 GB download. Video projects grow far beyond the app itself.
- Chip. Some current requirement lists mention Intel Macs and Apple silicon separately. Read the maker's page for your exact Mac.
Do you even need an editor?
Sometimes a trim is the whole job. QuickTime Player is already on your Mac. Apple's guide says it can trim, rearrange and rotate. How to edit a screen recording on Mac shows the steps. You can also trim in a browser with the free video trimmer, and shrink the file for email with the video compressor. If you need a different file type, the MOV to MP4 converter runs in the browser too.
Before you pick any editor, decide your export format. MOV vs MP4 for screen recordings and H.264 vs HEVC explain what each means for size and playback. For tips on cutting a screen recording so people finish watching it, see video editing tips for screen recordings.
FAQ
What is the best free video editing software for Mac?
DaVinci Resolve if you want the deepest free editor, and iMovie if you want the easiest one. Apple lists iMovie as free, and Blackmagic lists Resolve as free to download. Resolve is bigger to learn, and the free version has limits listed on Blackmagic's page.
Is iMovie good enough for YouTube?
The Mac App Store listing says iMovie edits up to 4K on compatible Macs and includes titles, transitions, color and audio tools. For simple YouTube videos that is often enough. If you need many audio tracks or deep color work, a bigger editor fits better.
Is Final Cut Pro worth $299.99?
It depends on how often you edit. Apple also sells it inside Apple Creator Studio at $12.99 a month or $129 a year for new subscribers, with a 30-day trial. If you edit every week on a Mac, the one-time price can make sense. If you edit a few times a year, start with something free.
What do beginners use to edit videos on a Mac?
Most beginners start with iMovie because it is free and made by Apple. CapCut's free plan is another common start for short social videos. If you only need to cut the start and end of a clip, QuickTime Player can do that without installing anything.
What should I use to edit a screen recording on a Mac?
Use QuickTime Player for a simple trim. Use an editor built for screen recordings, such as MotionShine, when you want auto zoom, a smooth cursor and captions. Use a general editor like Resolve or Final Cut Pro when you need to combine the recording with camera footage.
Do I need a powerful Mac to edit video?
Check the maker's requirements. Apple lists 8 GB of memory, with 16 GB recommended, for Final Cut Pro, and Resolve's listing has its own limits. Short, simple projects run on lighter hardware than long 4K projects.


